top of page

The Dangers of Just This Blog

Every time you read a story on this blog I want you to remember- it’s not the whole story. And, this is applicable to pretty much everything you ever read, but here a few of my examples to clear up any confusion about what that means.

If I write a story about eating the same food every day, I might not mention the food is organic, extremely healthy for me, and there is variety.

When I tell you I was sexually harassed on the street, you might not know the day before on the same street a different young man scolded the yelling, jeering men for being disrespectful to me.

If I complain about how tired I am and don’t want to walk to dinner, you might not know that on my way to dinner every night I feel a tiny hand reach out and hold me mine in the darkness as we walk to the dining hall before he/she disappears behind a building again.

If I explain I started running after session to make the cold water feel better, I might fail to mention that I keep forgetting to turn the hot water on.

When I grumble about living with 15 women in a single hallway, I might not say that I look forward to brushing my teeth next to the two sinks at the end of the hall because I get to catch up with everyone.

When I grow tired of washing my clothes by hand, I probably won’t tell you I find it therapeutic to scrub my clothes and I enjoy the camaraderie that comes with standing at a large sink with my friends.

When I complain about being woken up by a slamming door at 5:30am, I might not mention that I get to hear the Muslim call to prayer before I go back to sleep.

So, just keep this in mind. Nothing is ever THAT bad. There’s always a positive and I’ll strive to find it every time I tell you a story. But, in case I forget to tell you the silver lining, I’d like you to remember there always is one, even if I don’t remember to say it.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page