top of page

Homestay, in a Nutshell

Quiet, seemingly uncomfortable to be out of place, while gratefully receiving an invitation to a neighbors' wedding (who just so happened to be Sheila's homestay mother). This was the first impression of my homestay mother...

The first night I went to bed early, waking up to help with household chores.

The second day, I was studying at Sheila's while all the hustle and bustle of wedding preparation ensued around us. We were sat on THE comfiest couch I've ever had the pleasure of sitting on. I superglued the sole of my shoe; it had already completely fallen off (it hasn't even been two months of being in Uganda) and attempted to study our Acholi flashcards.

She walked me back to see my house, promptly receiving a 'pawpaw' to bring back to her family. (I have never heard of this fruit, which appalled my family). My turn to try one would be tomorrow (when I realized it was a papaya). Slightly delighted that the goats were all tucked in for bed, I was given a new chore for the day... sweeping. The ground. Yes, I swept the dusty red dirt until it seemed clean enough for Auntie's satisfaction, though I giggled to myself at the mere thought of what we looked like doing it.

The second night, we ate tiny fish, and like many other words or phrases I am taught in the moment, I have since forgotten the Acholi word for them. The fish was not the delicious beef from the night before. I'll leave it at that. I offered to do the dishes (as we had agreed I would do them "tomorrow" yesterday, though they said it was late and I could do them, yet again, "tomorrow".

One week in, around 4AM, I awaken to Daisy (our guard-dog who has recently had puppies!) barking loudly. She continued to do so for about half an hour, until I fell asleep again. I was told in the morning that "thieves were afoot last night", trying to break into the huts on the compound. We like to keep it exciting in this neck of the woods ;)

Here we are 3 weeks later... I've taken in the goats, brought in the chickens, Iearned to make chapatti (much like a thicker tortilla), held the gorgeous 2-week old baby Laura, carried 10 Liters of water on my head, fetched multiple 20 Liter Jerri-cans, bucket-bathed in front of seemingly the entire neighborhood, eaten countless hard-boiled eggs, tried antelope, and bananas, conversed and laughed.... I have taught the Macarena and Hokey-Pokey to the children on the compound, and jump-roped with a jumprope made of straws. I was visited by thieves at 5AM, and used a disco-colored solar lamp for three weeks. I have sat under the stars with Grandma for hours on-end in almost perfect silence, enjoying the coolness of the night, and clearness of the sky. Sheila and I have even held compound-wide yoga sessions for my entire host family, which I have gradually found to be quite extensive.

They are so, so kind and I am going to miss them a lot. I am forever grateful for their patience and acceptance into their hearts and home... Looking forward to visits in the future with my new, Ugandan family! Tomorrow we get sworn-in and then we leave for Site to start the two-year adventure we have all signed up for. Bring it on.


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page