top of page

My HomeStay Family

Dear Taata and Maama,

Thank you so much for letting me be a part of your family for the past month. I have enjoyed every minute we spent together.

Thank you for being kind and patient as I learned to navigate the Ugandan culture. I know I messed up when we had visitors and couldn’t remember the entire traditional Uganda greeting. But, you laughed, told them I was just learning, and allowed my embarrassment and I to gracefully escape the room. On the first night at dinner when I didn’t know I was supposed to say weebale kufumba, you gently reminded me with a smile. I appreciate all of the help you gave me as I practiced the Luganda. The time you dedicated to helping me study before dinner allowed me to successfully pass my LPI.

Thank you for allowing me to ask a million questions. I know some of them seemed silly to you, but you answered graciously and without judgment. It’s true Americans ask why? quite often and I’m no exception. Thank you for every answer you explained in-depth and each comparison you made to the United States in the hopes of helping me bridge the cultural gaps.

Maama wange, I can’t tell you how much I liked cooking with you. You taught me how to make staple Ugandan foods and American foods too. (I’ll be making chips quite a lot at site.) You allowed me to make meals with you as you explained the different ingredients, where to find them, how much they should cost, and how much I should make if I’m just cooking for myself. You didn’t have to do any of that, but I’m so grateful that you did.

Thank you for allowing me to live in your house and experience Uganda for the first time with you and your family. The warmth you showed me in one month was more than I ever could’ve hoped to have in Uganda.

Best wishes,

Namagembe (Allie)

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page