top of page

Spending the Day at My Library

The library at school is quaint in the most library-sort-of-way. It has six bookshelves with books ranging from penguins to skeletons to fairy tales. This is where I spend most of my day.

Every morning I open the library doors facing the crop fields so students can peek inside as they walk by. I sweep the floor and the top of the bookshelves. I jiggle the bookcases to scare out any animals that spent the night behind them and then I promptly cross to the other side of the room so I don’t see them leaving.

On the other side of the room are four long benches attached to desktops similar in length. Resting on the desks are two pillows covered in blue and orange fabric that matches the curtains. Hanging on the walls are literacy posters, a world map, library rules, and a few guides to finding books. The floor is made of red-colored cement that needs to be mopped daily, but that rarely happens. There are books in boxes that need to be labeled, marked, and put on shelves- that hasn’t happened yet. I’m waiting for my toolkit with all my lesson materials to arrive. I left it in Kampala.

So, for now, I spend the day getting to know the library. I check in on Jessica and Elizabeth in Sweet Valley. I travel to Kindergarten with Junie B. Jones. I explore in the Magic Tree House with Jack and Annie. Yesterday, I fought Sepron the Sea Serpent along side Tom and Elenna and I solved mysteries with the Hardy Boys. I reread Bridge to Terabithia and explored On the Bank of Plum Creek with Laura Ingalls Wilder. I read about airports, animals, and agriculture. I learned about sand dunes, scorpions, and skyscrapers. I checked in with Calvin and Hobbes, Captain Underpants, and the Wimpy Kid. I found stories about penguins, puppies, and ponies. I read Dr. Seuss, R. L. Stine, and Judy Blume.

I saw books I read in elementary school lined on these bookshelves. And, I’ve never been so happy my parents encouraged me to keep reading, supplying me with bookshelf after bookshelf to fill. My job here, at this school, is to inspire kids to read. To teach them how fun it is to learn about places we’ve never been. I’ll teach them how to fight the Titans with Percy Jackson, how to solve mysteries with Nancy Drews, and how to survive at school with Amber Brown, Judy Moody, and The Bailey Kids. But, most importantly I’ll teach them how to explore the world with their imagination and words on a page.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page